Curtis Mayfield - Curtis / Live: Expanded [New Vinyl LP] Expanded Version, Holla

Sold Date: September 13, 2021
Start Date: January 13, 2017
Final Price: $56.86 (AUD)
Seller Feedback: 441228
Buyer Feedback: 0

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis / Live: Expanded [New Vinyl LP] Expanded Version, Holla

Artist: Curtis Mayfield

Title: Curtis / Live: Expanded

Format: Vinyl LP

Genre: Rock

UPC: 8718469537846

Release Date: 2015

Record Label: Music on Vinyl

Album Tracks

1. Mighty Mighty (Spade and Whitey)
2. I Plan to Stay a Believer
3. We're a Winner

1. We've Only Just Begun
2. People Get Ready
3. Stare and Stare

1. Check Out Your Mind
2. Gypsy Woman
3. The Makings of You
4. We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue

1. (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below We're All Gonna Going to Go
2. Stone Junkie
3. Superfly (1973)
4. Mighty Mighty (Spade and Whitey) (Single Version)

Double 180 gram vinyl LP pressing in gatefold sleeve includes two bonus tracks. Curtis/Live! Is Curtis Mayfield's first live album after leaving the Impressions. Originally released in 1971 as a double LP on Mayfield's Curtom label, the album's 16 tracks along with Mayfield's interstitial raps on the politics of the day were recorded at Paul Colby's 230 seats Bitter End nightclub in New York City. Mayfield and his band's first set at a Bitter End date in January 1971 comprised the bulk of the music presented here. Mixed primarily with Eddie Kramer at Electric Lady Studios, the album features Henry Gibson playing percussion, Craig McMullen on rhythm guitar, Joseph 'Lucky' Scott on bass, and Tyrone McCullen on drums. Many critics feel Live! Is a powerful demonstration of Mayfield's pre-Superfly accomplishment, and some even said it's one of the greatest concert albums ever cut on a soul artist, and one of the legendary live albums of all time.

© DirectToU LLC. All Rights Reserved.