Hazel Dickens & Alic - Sing Me Back Home: The Dc Tapes, 1965-1969 [New Vinyl LP]

Sold Date: July 24, 2021
Start Date: September 24, 2018
Final Price: $23.47 (USD)
Seller Feedback: 2868495
Buyer Feedback: 0

Hazel Dickens & Alic - Sing Me Back Home: The Dc Tapes, 1965-1969 [New Vinyl LP]

Artist: Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard

Title: Sing Me Back Home: The Dc Tapes, 1965-1969

Format: Vinyl LP

Genre: Blues

UPC: 877746008719

Release Date: 2018

Record Label: Free Dirt Records

Album Tracks

1. Bye Bye Love
2. Tell Me That You Love Me
3. Seven Year Blues
4. Cannonball Blues
5. This Little Light of Mine
6. James Alley Blues
7. Little Darling Pal of Mine
8. Are You All Alone
9. No One to Welcome Me Home
10. Let Me Fall
11. Will You Miss Me
12. No Telephone in Heaven
13. I'll Wash Your Love from My Heart
14. No Hard Times
15. Why Not Confess
16. Bound to Ride
17. Sing Me Back Home

Vinyl LP pressing. Archive release. Beloved bluegrass trailblazers Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard are revered as pioneers of the form, who challenged the norm at a time when bluegrass remained largely in the purview of men. Nowhere is this clearer than on a set of newly unearthed recordings, Sing Me Back Home: The DC Tapes, 1965-1969. Sourced from Alice's private archive and digitized with help from the Southern Folklife Collection at UNC Chapel Hill, the recordings invite us in to witness the creative process of these towering figures-just two voices and a handful of instruments working out arrangements at home. Across 19 tracks the duo sings the classic country of The Carter Family, The Louvin Brothers, and Jimmie Rodgers; contemporary hits of the 1960s penned by Dolly Parton and Merle Haggard; and barn-burning traditional standards that blur the line between old-time and early bluegrass. Sing Me Back Home is a raw, unfiltered listen to Hazel and Alice at the height of their collaborative energy.

© DirectToU LLC. All Rights Reserved.