V.A. - Saigon Supersound Volume 1 (Vinyl 2LP - 2017 - EU - Original)

Sold Date: May 17, 2021
Start Date: April 17, 2021
Final Price: €25.99 (EUR)
Seller Feedback: 270685
Buyer Feedback: 0

What started as an idea 5 years ago now becomes reality with the release of SAIGON SUPERSOUND Vol.1, compiled by Jan Hagenkötter. A compilation about the story of a musical era in Vietnam that was almost lost, made of tracks from 1965 to 1975, the so-called “Golden Music” period in the south of Vietnam, where – under difficult circumstances – a lively pop culture had developed. This period is characterized by the fusion of Vietnamese music with western pop music. The compilation includes some tunes reissued for the very first time since they´ve been released originally. With the release of Saigon Supersound Vol. 1 on double gatefold vinyl and cd in May 2017 the story of this nearly unknown music will be reissued.
Jan Hagenkötter a music-lover and DJ who is also the mind behind the renowned music publishing company and record label INFRACom!, relocated to Saigon in 2012. In co-operation with the Vietnam based dOSe crew, Jan organized parties and shows, inviting guest and friends like DJ Spinna, Jazzanova, Alice Russell and many other artists. During this year as he was spinning tunes in Saigon and other parts of South East Asia the idea for this project was born. In 2013 Jan returned to Germany but has been swinging back and forth between Saigon and Frankfurt ever since.
In the following years he began to research and collect more seriously. He bought vinyl singles from around the world, often several copies of the same release, just to restore or rather “rebuild” one good recording from several sources. With the help of friends based in Saigon, he was able to navigate an almost impenetrable jungle of music websites. Thanks to invaluable support and translation assistance from Vietnamese friends, he came into contact with several collectors. The best recordings from this treasure hunt were then retouched, refined and remastered in the studio for this release.
Besides this amazing project, Vietnamese producers like Maqman from Saigon, DJ Yellow from Paris and others who also share roots in Vietnam have already started to work on edits and re-works of songs featured on Saigon Supersound Vol. 1. These will be released in a next step....the mission is not completed....it just started!


A1 Tinh Ta Nhu Lua Dơm Hoa - Carol Kim
A2 Song Cho Nhau - Hung Cuong & Mai La Huyen
A3 Mong Ve Que - Duy Quang & Thai Hien
A4 Neu Minh Con Yeu Nhau - Thanh Vu
B1 Ly Luan Tinh Yeu - Connie Kim
B2 Pho Dem - Hoa tau
B3 Mua Xuan Gui Em - Phuong Mai
B4 Diem Xua - Khanh Ly
B5 Can Nha Ngoai O - Kim Loan
C1 Doan Nguoi Lu Thu - Thanh Thuy & Van Thanh & Hoang Liem & Thanh Mai
C2 Dem Cuoi Cung - Kieu Oanh
C3 Hat Mung Xuan - Thanh Lan, Chau Ha & Thanh Mai
C4 Co Ai Tren Doi Ma Khong Yeu - Mai Le Huyen
D1 Chon Mat Gui Vang - Van Son & Thuy Dung
D2 Mua Gat Moi - Hoang Oanh
D3 Tinh Dem Lien Hoan - Thanh Lan
D4 Vong Tay Giu Tron An Tinh - Phuong Dung
D5 7 cau vong co chuc Tet - Ngoc Giau