Dennis Potter's SINGING DETECTIVE TV Soundtrack LP Joanne Whalley Michael Gambon

Sold Date: August 21, 2021
Start Date: April 1, 2019
Final Price: £25.00 (GBP)
Seller Feedback: 1714
Buyer Feedback: 0

UK 1st release of the TV soundtrack LP to 'The Singing Detective' (1986), featuring original music from the 1940s.

The series was written by Dennis Potter and starred Michael Gambon and Joanne Whalley.

Various ‎– The Singing Detective: Music From The BBC TV Serial (1986)

Condition (refer also to notes at bottom):
Vinyl – EX.
Clean surface showing no obvious signs of wear, no marks or scuffs. Played just pre-listing and runs through well with no skipping, sticking or jumping. Outer sleeve (Cover) – EX. Very clean front cover. Minor creasing, edge and corner wear. Colours remain bright and unfaded. Nice copy. Inner sleeve – EX. Original. White paper with angled corners. Intact.

Label: BBC Records And Tapes ‎– REN 608
Format: Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Mono
Country: UK
Released: 1986
Genre: Jazz, Pop, Stage & Screen, Theme, Score, Soundtrack
Style: Music Hall, Big Band, Vocal, Easy Listening, 1940s

A1. Max Harris & His Novelty Trio - Peg O' My Heart -
A2. Ambrose & His Orchestra - Limehouse Blues -
A3. Anne Shelton - Blues In The Night -
A4. Fred Waring & The Pennsylvanians - Dry Bones -
A5. Duke Ellington And His Famous Orchestra - Rockin' In Rhythm -
A6. Lou Preager & His Orchestra - Cruising Down The River (Vocals – Paul Rich)
A7. Bing Crosby & The Andrews Sisters - Don't Fence Me In -
A8. Dick Haymes - It Might As Well Be Spring -
A9. The Mills Brothers - Paper Doll -
A10. Lale Anderson* - Lili Marlene -

B1. Sam Browne With The Lew Stone Band - I Get Along Without You Very Well -
B2. The Ink Spots - Do I Worry? -
B3. Bing Crosby & The Andrews Sisters - Ac-cent-tchu-ate The Positive -
B4. The Mills Brothers - You Always Hurt The One You Love -
B5. Al Jolson & Matty Malneck Orchestra & The Four Hits And A Miss* - After You've Gone -
B6. Jack Payne & His Orchestra - It's A Lovely Day Tomorrow -
B7. Ella Fitzgerald & The Ink Spots - Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall -
B8. Al Bowlly With Ray Noble And His Orchestra - The Very Thought Of You -
B9. Henry Hall & His Orchestra - The Teddy Bears' Picnic -
B10. Vera Lynn With Arthur Young - We'll Meet Again

Synthesizer [Hammond Novachord] – Arthur Young

Track A5: Duke Ellington & His Famous Orchestra are also credited as "The Jungle Band". Recorded 14th January 1931.
Track B10: credited as "Vera Lynn with Arthur Young at the Novachord".

Barcode and Other Identifiers
Barcode: 5011755130213
Matrix / Runout (Stamped Runout, Side A): REN 608 A-4C-1-1- D
Matrix / Runout (Stamped Runout, Side B): REN 608 B-1U-1-

Please see my other soundtrack listings, including Dennis Potter's 'Pennies from Heaven' LP set a the 'Lipstick on Your Collar' CD.

I offer combined postage on all multiple purchases placed in the same order.
Please await invoice before making payment.

Postage and packaging FREE to UK (Royal Mail 2nd Class Signed For).

Will post worldwide (ALL Royal Mail International Tracked). Europe – £15
USA, Canada, South America – £17
Asia, Australia, Japan – £16

Sorry but no returns are accepted.

Payment by Paypal only please.

Please see my other soundtrack listings.

Thanks for looking and happy eBaying!

ITEM CONDITION - items are graded according to Record Collector definitions - see below:

MINT: The record itself is in brand new condition with no surface marks or deterioration in sound quality. The cover and any extra items such as the lyric sheet, booklet or poster are in perfect condition. Records advertised as Sealed or Unplayed should be Mint.

EXCELLENT: The record shows some signs of having been played, but there is very little lessening in sound quality. The cover and packaging might have slight wear and / or creasing.

The record has obviously been played many times, but displays no major deterioration in sound quality, despite noticeable surface marks and the occasional light scratch. Normal wear and tear on the cover or extra items, without any major defects, is acceptable.

GOOD: The record has been played so much that the sound quality has noticeably deteriorated, perhaps with some distortion and mild scratches. The cover and contents suffer from folding, scuffing of edges, spine splits, discolouration, etc.

The record is still just playable but has not been cared for properly and displays considerable surface noise; it may even jump. The cover and contents will be torn, stained and / or defaced.

The record will not play properly due to scratches, bad surface noise, etc. The cover and contents will be badly damaged or partly missing.

The record is unplayable or might even be broken, and is only of use as a collection filler.